New Year’s in Times Square goes Green!

21 12 2008

bicycles

New Year’s in Times Square is going green this year by using energy stored up from bicycle pedaling to power the 2-0-0-9 sign that lights up as the New Years Ball drops at midnight.
2009-sign

Six bicycles with generators connected to batteries are available for the public to pedal at the “Duracell Power Lodge” located at 1540 Broadway (between 45th & 46th streets). Approximately 230 hours of pedaling are required to light the sign for about 10 to 15 minutes. You can pedal now through Dec. 31 from 10 a.m. to 9 p.m. Sunday through Wednesday, and 10 a.m. to 11 p.m. Thursday through Saturday.

 2009-bulbs

Although everyone seems really impressed by the noble idea of powering the New Year’s sign with bicycle pedaling, when I went over there this afternoon, very few people were actually riding the bikes. When I first heard about it, I figured there would be a line-up to try the bikes. I am curious to know how much power they have stored up already and if they will have enough by New Year’s Eve. I tried cycling for a few minutes myself and really worked up a sweat. But it was fun and I got a snazzy sticker that says “I powered 2009” for my efforts.

  sticker

Actions

Information

2 responses

22 12 2008
Ken Ott

Hey there,
Got to your page from here: http://www.sustainlane.com/reviews/stationary-bikes-will-power-nyc-new-year's-eve-ball-drop/SDDRCDS7COPSJ4ICC1YYOV1TWQ9H

Thanks for posting the photos! Now I know what to expect when I get there 🙂
I’m surprised GreeNYC and their staff aren’t promoting it! (Post-12/25 it will probably be promoted on radio/TV and then there’ll be crazy lines.) Maybe Lance Armstrong needs to get on it. Does it track calories too? ;o)

Best,
Ken

22 12 2008
Ken Ott

One last comment–why are DUracell, Energizer and the rest still selling DISPOSABLE batteries? IKEA only started selling rechargables late in this year of 2008. I remember using them as a kid in the 80’s. What gives??

(Duracell Greenwash!)

Leave a Reply

